jump to navigation

I’ve Been Tagged… April 6, 2006

Posted by scan man in Misc.
trackback

Tag: n. a children's game in which one chases the rest, and anyone who is caught then becomes the person doing the chasing.Tag

I've been tagged…transcontinentally πŸ˜›

An anomalous property of tag is that although being "it" gives a player the most influence upon the game and thus could be considered the best role to play, the position is stigmatized and avoided. While most agree that the temporary stigma associated with being "it" is harmless, some have criticized tag because, they allege, a player who is often pursued to be made "it" or who is physically slow can be singled out and embarrassed. – Wikipedia.

I don't know if I've been tagged by Moof because of my 'slowness' πŸ˜‰

I am embarassed…

I think I'll give it a go… & try to make a cultural exchange sort of thing…

The version of Tag that I used to play as a kid was called 'Police & Thieves'. 'It' was the 'Police man'.

4 Jobs I've had in my life

  1. Radiologist
  2. Resident Junior Medical Officer
  3. Professional Student
  4. Chauffeur for my mother – during my school days. I'm writing this with the knowledge that she'll never get to see this.

4 Movies I could watch over and over

  1. Total Recall – I've seen it twice. I'll probably have to watch it over and over and over till I understand what is going on…
  2. Home Alone – 1, 2 & 3
  3. The Sound of Music
  4. M*A*S*H the movie (and DVDs of the TV series – 1st and 2nd season)

4 Indian movies I could watch over and over – I know I'm breaking the rules.Sorry πŸ™‚

  • Kamal Hasan's Tamil comedy movies – 'Sathi Leelavathi', 'Michael Madhana Kamarajan' & 'Thenali'.
  • Dil Chahta Hai – the only Hindi movie that I think is work watching more than once.

4 Websites I visit regularly

  1. Google – I probably couldn't live or work without it.
  2. Wikipedia – for checking up on anything & everything, including the game 'Tag'.
  3. The Unofficial Apple Weblog.
  4. A whole lot of Radiology and Medical sites.

Favourite foods (I don't think I'll stop at 4)

  1. Idli and Vadai (the Indian version of Donuts – hot & spicy though) with my mom's Tomato Sambar & Coconut Chutney – The quintessential Tamil Nadu breakfast followed by Kaapi.
  2. Masala Dosai – folded rice pancake with spicy potato filling. To honour my Kannada origins.
  3. Tandoori Chicken with Lassi – The best of Punjabi cuisine.
  4. Biriyani (Mutton or Chicken) with tomato & onion raitha.
  5. Sarkarai Pongal – sweet rice dish.
  6. All kinds of Payasam (traditional South Indian pudding).

4 Places I would rather be right now

  1. At home with my wife and kid.
  2. Switzerland. Actually any place that's cold – today's high temperature here is 39 C (102 F).
  3. In a nice cool bar with an ice-cold beer in my hands.
  4. Any of the above

4 Most wonderful places I have been

  1. Munnar, Kerala.
  2. Goa.
  3. Sri Lanka.
  4. Penang, Malaysia.

4 Books I could read over and over

  1. Any book by P. G. Wodehouse.
  2. Any of the Discworld novels of Terry Pratchett.
  3. To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee.
  4. A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson. I guess I'll have to read it over and over again to register even a fraction of the details in there πŸ™‚

4 Songs I could listen to every day

  1. 'Vaseegara' by Bombay Jayshree, in the Tamil movie Minnale.
  2. 'Nothing Compares to You' – Sinead O'Connor.
  3. 'Eleanor Rigby' – The Beatles.
  4. 'Smooth' – Carlos Santana.

4 Reasons I blog

  1. To put random thoughts into words
  2. Try some creative writing… haven't succeeded yet…haven't given up either
  3. To meet like-minded people
  4. Suresh… He started me on this.

4 People to tag

I really don't want to do this to people that I don't know. However, in the spirit of the game & since these guys write so well in their blogs, I'd really love to know what they say..So here goes..

  1. Dr. Michael Hebert. (sorry, I couldn't get the accent over the e)
  2. Dr. Bob.
  3. Dr. John Crippen.
  4. Dr. Charles. and I'm sure you all will forgive me for adding one more..
  5. TJ

Thank you Moofie. I find at the end that I really did enjoy this πŸ™‚

Comments»

1. Moof - April 6, 2006

I find at the end that I really did enjoy this

*Phew!* I was worried that you’d never talk to me again! ;o)

You’re too late to tag Dr. Bob … I already tagged him! *does a happy little dance*

And I believe that Sarah already tagged TJ

… so you actually end up one short instead of one over.

Now, I’m going to have to look up all the things I don’t recognize in your responses! Particularly looking forward to looking up the foods! *Moofie pats her belly appreciatively*

And by the way … Slow? Tag you because you’re … slow? From this “transcontinental” position, it would be very hard for me to tell how “slow” or “fast” you might be … my eyes aren’t all that good at this distance!

2. dribear - April 6, 2006

scan man,

I was debating putting Terry Pratchett on my list too, but alas did not. And Bill Bryson, what can I say. Loved the book. One of the funniest books I’ve ever read is “A Walk in the Woods”. I could not stop laughing at his friend.

Just discovered your site. Don’t know what took me so long. Adding you to my blogroll.

dr. ibear

3. It's me, T.J. - April 7, 2006

I just woke up.

What’s going on now?

later…

4. scan man - April 7, 2006

Good Morning TJ, It kind of seems like you've been tagged by two people….You're IT. πŸ™‚

5. scan man’s notes » A Literary Tag. - August 6, 2006

[…] I’ve been tagged. Again!! By the same person who did it last time. […]


Leave a Reply

