jump to navigation

Of Jugglers and Juggling… April 9, 2006

Posted by scan man in Misc.
trackback

I saw this post in Dr. Bob's blog yesterday. I followed the link and I thought the video of a man juggling 3 balls to music was great. I thanked Dr. Bob for sharing the video, got my wife to see it and then forgot about it.

Today, I was surprised to see my comment (which unfortunately happened to be the first), heading a debate on the complexities of juggling and why that particular video wasn't that great. Here's a link to parody of the video by a professional juggler using 5 balls. This is great too. I believe it is better than the first.

Comments»

1. Moof - April 9, 2006

Dr. Scan Man … I saw that same video about a week or so before Bob posted it … and I was impressed with the way the juggler synchronized the his hand and body motions with the music. I still am. It’s one thing to be an excellent juggler – like that last video with the 5 balls – and another thing to successfully use the juggling as a “song.”

I found the juggling was better in the second video, but that the “flow” and synchro was better with the first.

When I first saw it, I thought “WOW!” too! :o)

2. It's me, T.J. - April 10, 2006

I found the juggling was better in the second video, but that the “flow” and synchro was better with the first.

I agree.

I think it is amazing that anyone can juggle for more than 4 minutes without dropping a ball.

The five ball guy did gather his balls and throw them back into the air on several occasions. The three ball guy never quit juggling the entire time. Although, I would have to agree that it takes more skill to juggle five balls. (I think.)

Now… I am not a “juggling judge” but…

the entertainment value was better in the first because of the synchronization with the music and he never stopped juggling for over four minutes…

So, guy #2 gets second place to an act that has better ‘presentation’.

So now that debate is settled.

;+ )

later…

3. Moof - April 13, 2006

Wow! TJ! You’re good! You said it really well, thank you dear!

*points at TJ and says: My point is what SHE said!* ;o)

4. Zachary Granger Moldof - April 18, 2006

I definitely have to agree that cadence is the issue at hand, not wow-factor. The three-ball video is a display of cadence, while the five-ball video is merely juggling while music is playing–the five-ball video seems quite inflammatory as well.I have to believe that juggling five balls is not neccesarily harder than juggling three balls, just different.


Leave a Reply

